Access Antennas & Satellites

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 06, 2016 at 21:03
ThreadID: 133394 Views:3798 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
I am looking at buying a satellite kit for our caravan looking at
THE DELUXE PORTABLE SATELLITE TV KIT. Has anyone had any dealings with this company or this product, I would appreciate any feedback. Merl

Reply By: Member - David M (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2016 at 21:43

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2016 at 21:43
Which ever system you choose Merl I suggest you upgrade the Sat Finder to the "Marriage Saver" Worth every cent.
Dave.
AnswerID: 604169

Reply By: Member - smerl1 - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2016 at 21:51

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2016 at 21:51
Thanks Dave, have already done just that, I can see a need for this and sounds like it's very well named
AnswerID: 604171

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2016 at 21:54

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2016 at 21:54
I purchased a dish and a Satking decoder from them. Both work well.
Access Antennas are an efficient company to deal with, one of the better ones.
AnswerID: 604174

Follow Up By: Member - smerl1 - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2016 at 22:01

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2016 at 22:01
Thank you so much for your reply Rod, just what I wanted to know.
FollowupID: 873867

Follow Up By: TomH - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 08:44

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 08:44
I had a setup off them and it worked well Service was good as well
FollowupID: 873888

Follow Up By: 08crd - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 10:35

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 10:35
I bought a system off them, great to deal with and after sales excellent.
I don't think they are the cheapest, but you know you can go back with a problem or a question and they will help.
FollowupID: 873895

Reply By: Salty Dog - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 20:57

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 20:57
Sat TV is good, if you know what service you want :)
You could drag a 65cm dish around or an 85cm if you were really fussy.

Depending on your travel area, IPTV is also a great solution
I've been using IPTV over a 3G connection for 3 or 4 years now.
All you need a 3Mb connection and above for SD TV.
With unlimited channels

Ofcourse, if you are no where near a phone tower, its useless :)
AnswerID: 604202

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 21:33

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 21:33
SD, who have you got your mobile service with to be able to download TV over it.

I am paying top dollar to Telstra each month and finding that I am using more than my 15GB/month allowance.
FollowupID: 873923

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 23:06

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2016 at 23:06
With internet at 400 MB per hour that's an expensive way to watch TV.

FollowupID: 873926

Follow Up By: Salty Dog - Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 06:33

Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 06:33
I have had Unlimited 3G Internet at speeds of 20mbs for 4 years+ now
With Optus and it costs $2 a Day, only the days you use it :)
(This plan is no longer available, but you can buy the SIM from eBay or Gumtree or Forums with the deal still current)

Its been my Home Internet Solution for 4 years
It is my Voice and Data solution for all of AU (all unlimited) for $730 a year :)
(In fact, less than $730 a year, as when i go overseas, it doesn't cost me a cent, as i'm not using it for that time frame)

Considering i live between 2 Homes and being on the road camping, its perfect.
Haven't had a landline in 10 years.

Watch live F1 or MotoGP or Fishing Programs, News, Catch Up, International channels, you name it.

Best of all, it can be done while driving, as there is no alignment issues.
Last time i drove from Melbourne to Griffith in NSW, my partner watched the Australian Open Tennis the whole way.

Best of all, you're if you smart, you can do away with Home Foxtel too.
Its draw back is non 3G areas

So if you are going Outback, a Sat Dish is the answer
If you are anywhere in 3G range, then IPTV is an option as well.

Just need to do your homework and learn what is possible :)

Oh and PeterD, its not an expensive way to watch television, in my case, its FREE, as i would have my phone plan regardless of whether i streamed 40GB a day or not :)

I currently have 50+ IPTV channels saved on my Laptop and Android Box and Tablet, which all play in HD
All of the Australian Channels and in every region and time zone
All of the New Zealand Channels
Plus Foxtel and Sky UK if needed.

Just look at some many Community TV channels, they are all going online anyway.
C31 and TVME is a prime example
C31 has a 24/7 Fishing Channel with No Ads, but its ONLY online :)
FollowupID: 873929

Follow Up By: Salty Dog - Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 06:56

Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 06:56
I've played the Sat Set up game
I've also installed more than i care to remember on roofs

It gets tired pretty quick
Plus it can be a lot of haul around with you

If you are travelling with a Caravan, then that is fine
And if you stay in places for days at a time

I'm always on the move, with over night stays, so the idea of setting up a dish for that is painful.

I have found the IPTV way very successful for me.
You plan what you want to watch, then watch it.

Even with out the plan i am on, the current plans are great
10Gb a Month for $40 with unlimited Calls and Texts, available though 2 providers
Some are 12Gb a month now

If you just wish to watch the news or that sports event you cant miss, its all you need. Plus you get to do all the other online stuff, like weather forecasts etc.

I watch more than 50% of my home viewing using this method, all over a 3G mobile connection, then add Subscribed 4WD YouTube Channels, or New Release Movies or Netflix (not that i've used Netflix in years now), Horse Racing Channels (if that is your thing) and it is a very versatile solution.

Once again, if you are out of range, none of the above is an option :)
And you will be confined to Sat Broadcasts, if you are taking your Pay TV box, then great, you'll be more than happy.
FollowupID: 873931

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 16:34

Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 16:34
g'day Mate, we've been dealing with Access Antennas here for years, and they are pretty good.
As for sat tv be sure to get the new Sat King, and not the UEC Alltech box. We switched over to those when the system changed to VAST a few years ago (2012 or 13), and we have had 4 of them go completely dead in the space of a month, the power supply on them cacks itself, and Alltech the company, nor access the reseller, will do anything about them, even they know it is a problem.
We've since started getting the sat King boxes to replace them as they die, and so far, no worries, but it's early days yet.

Al
AnswerID: 604247

Follow Up By: Member - smerl1 - Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 17:36

Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 17:36
Hi Al
Thank you so much for your reply, I have ordered the Deluxe Portable Satellite TV kit with no receiver and the Marriage saver (need this big time) We are taking our Austar box as that is all we use at home, leaving the Vast system for the housesitters. Great to hear Access are reputable, the guy was helpful when I rang, now just waiting for it to arrive. Then the fun will begin (have valium on hand as hubby is not known for his patience) Thanks again Merl.
FollowupID: 873986

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 18:38

Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 18:38
Well enjoy the Austar/ foxtel on the road :-) (there's nothing to watch on vast anyway haha
and yeah, ya might need those valiums ..lol
FollowupID: 873987

Follow Up By: Member - smerl1 - Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 19:22

Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 19:22
Thank you for taking the time to reply to my post, Never know we may end up at your roadhouse. Would be great!
FollowupID: 873991